5 Players Who Can Break Virat Kohli’s Record Of Most ODI Cricketer Of The Year Awards

Virat Kohli has been perhaps the biggest superstar when it comes to modern-day cricket, the Indian talisman has done it all, from scoring all around the globe to breaking records one after another. One of the biggest records in Virat Kohli’s cabinet will be his 3 ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year awards. Virat Kohli alongside South African legend AB De Villiers holds the record for the most ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award won by a single player, with both players standing at the top with 3 titles on their shelves.

There are very few names that can replicate the same success Virat Kohli has achieved in the 50-over format, much less winning 3 ICC ODI Player of the Year titles. However, while the record is a monumental number, records are always meant to be broken and there are some names that have what it takes to surpass Kohli when it comes to the illustrious milestones.

5 Players Who Can Surpass Virat Kohli’s Tally

Babar Azam

Babar Azam (PC-AP)

Pakistan’s skipper Babar Azam has perhaps the most realistic chance out of every player who can surpass Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers when it comes to the record for most ICC ODI Player of the Year awards. Babar Azam has already lifted the silverware twice, with both coming consecutively in 2021 and 2022. 

As of now, Babar Azam is once again a strong contender for the award as the batter is at the top of the ICC ODI rankings with 887 points to his name and is head and shoulders above the second-placed Rassie van der Dussen who has 747 points to his name.

If Babar Azam manages to bag this third ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award in 2023, not only will he become the first player in history to make a hattrick of the prestigious award, he will have a great chance to surpass Virat Kohli with the way he has been playing in the white-ball format.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Source link

Leave a Comment