The tenth World Cup took place in West Germany from June 13 to July 7. A total of 98 national teams qualified for the final tournament. The final competition will have 16 teams competing for the title of world champions. For the first time, Australia, East Germany, Haiti, and Zaire took part. West Germany was automatically qualified as the host country, as was Brazil as the current title holder.


After the tragic Munich shooting two years prior at the Summer Olympics, where jihadists killed eleventh athletics, security will be a top priority. Many of the teams’ matches and accommodations is closely guarded..

In 1974, a new trophy was unveiled for the World Cup (Brazil had won the Jules Rimet Trophy permanently due to three victories). The latest award was simply referred to as the FIFA World Cup Trophy. It was designed by Silvio Gazzaniga and is made of 18 karat gold with malachite green ring lawyers on the lower side. Apart from the old cup, the current trophy’s rules make it impossible for any country to win it indefinitely.


The format consisted of two group stages, with eight teams progressing to the second round, a third-place contest, and a final. There were no quarter-finals or semifinals.

Cities and arenas

The 1974 World Cup was contested in nine cities and nine stadiums.


Brazil in 1974 was not a respectable successor to the great squad that won in 1970. In the second group round, the players displayed more aggression than typical samba skills against Holland. The poor showing could be explained in part by the fact that Pelé had retired and Gérson, along with a few other main players, was injured.

The Netherlands, on the other hand, were a team that also regarded football like an art form. The Netherlands, led by Johan Cruyff, won five games and drew once before reaching the final, according to many. The Netherlands, who hadn’t played in a World Cup final tournament since 1938, used a strategy playing style known as absolute football, which was pioneered by AFC Ajax.

West Germany, their final foe, had been favourites for the title prior to the tournament due to their win in the European Championship two years prior (their coach, Helmut Schön, had been Sepp Herberger’s assistant when West Germany won the world championship in 1954). However, West Germany’s road to the final was not as easy as the Netherlands’, and the historic match against East Germany will end in defeat.

The final got off to a shaky start. The Germans could only avoid Cruyff’s advance with a tackle in the penalty area before they had even hit the ball. The goal would result in a 1-0 win for the Netherlands, but the Netherlands would not win the World Cup this time.


East Germany, West Germany, Yugoslavia, Brazil, Netherlands, Sweden, Poland, Argentina, Netherlands, and Brazil advanced from the first group round (which included four groups of four teams each).

These teams advanced from the second group phase (which comprised two groups of four teams each): Netherlands, Brazil, West Germany, and Poland.

When Poland beat Brazil in the match for third place, they will take third place. The home nation of West Germany will face the Netherlands in the final. West Germany will finally win 2-1.

Leave a Comment