IND vs SA: Suryakumar Yadav Becomes First Player To Smash 50 T20I Sixes In A Calendar Year

Suryakumar Yadav made cricket history by being the first player to hit 50 sixes in the game’s shortest format in a single year. During the second T20I encounter in Guwahati against South Africa, he achieved this milestone. 

The quick batter had a superb game total of 61 off just 22 balls. Players and spectators enjoyed his knock, which was embellished with five flowing fours and five lofty sixes. 

Suryakumar Yadav. PC- AP

Suryakumar Yadav Tops List Of Most Sixes Hit In T20s In 2022

Currently, Suryakumar has 50 sixes in total for the year 2022. Mohammad Rizwan, a wicketkeeper-batsman for Pakistan, is his lone competitor and last year he blasted 42 sixes. With 41 maximums in the year 2021, experienced opener Martin Guptill of New Zealand is now in third place. 

Regarding the game, India was given the opportunity to bat first by Proteas, and they made a staggering 237/3 in their 20 overs. The Men in Blue were able to accomplish this mark thanks to big innings from KL Rahul (57 off 28 balls), Suryakumar Yadav (61 off 22 balls), and Virat Kohli (49* off 28 balls).

Suryakumar Yadav. PC- AP
Suryakumar Yadav. PC- AP

Only Proteas’ spinner Keshav Maharaj appeared to be effective, taking 2/23 in his four overs. 

Due to bowler Arshdeep Singh’s (2/62) opening stint, South Africa lost opener Temba Bavuma and Rilee Rossouw for a duck while attempting to chase 238. Before Aiden Markram was out for 33 off 19 balls by Axar Patel (1/53) after a 45-run partnership with Quinton de Kock, Markram had scored 45 runs. 

De Kock and David Miller then put up a 174-run partnership for the fourth wicket, but they were still 16 runs shy of a victory. Miller batted only 47 balls to reach a magnificent century score of 106*. De Kock used 48 balls to score 69*. 

KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav. PC- BCCI
KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav. PC- BCCI

KL Rahul scored 57 runs off just 28 balls to win “Man of the Match” honours. 

At Indore’s Holkar Cricket Stadium on Tuesday, the last T20I will be contested. The three-match ODI series between the two sides will therefore begin on October 6. 

Also Read: IND vs SA: Suryakumar Yadav Surpasses Glenn Maxwell To Create New T20I World Record

Source link

Leave a Comment