NZ vs SL: Sri Lanka Test Squad For Series vs New Zealand Announced

On Friday, February 24, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced a 17-member squad of the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team for the upcoming Test series against the New Zealand National Cricket Team.

The Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand 2023 consists of a two-match Test series, a three-match ODI series and a three-match T20I series. The Dimuth Karunaratne-led side will play the first Test against the BlackCaps at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch from March 09 to 13 and the second Test from March 17 to 21 at the Basin Reserve, Wellington.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score 

The two-match Test series between the Lankan Lions and the Kiwis carries all-important ICC World Test Championship points. Notably, the defending champions, New Zealand, are already out of the race for the final. However, Sri Lanka along with India and Australia have the possibility of making it to the final of the ongoing edition of the ICC World Test Championship.

Sri Lanka Currently In The No.3 Position On ICC World Test Championship Points Table

The Lankan Lions are currently in the third position on the ICC World Test Championship Points Table with a win percentage of 53.33. Australia and India occupy the top-2 spots in the rankings.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Meanwhile, the Lankan Lions will have to make sure that they win 2-0 against New Zealand in their own backyard to give themselves a chance to make it to the final. Also, they will be hoping for other results to go their way.

Notably, Sri Lanka don’t have a good record on New Zealand soil as they have won just twice in 19 previous attempts. Under coach Chris Silverwood, the Lankan Team have done quite well and they will be aiming to better their records on New Zealand soil.

Sri Lanka Test Squad For New Zealand Tour:

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Nishan Madushka, Ramesh Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Milan Rathnayake

Also Read: Virat Kohli vs Babar Azam, Who Has Better Cover Drive? David Miller Responds

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Source link

Leave a Comment